Musings on shimmer and matte

I have been obsessing about how I badly need add-ons in my makeup caddy: brushes, concealer, contour kit, and most especially earth-toned matte eyeshadow palette. Practically, they’re the things I don’t have yet, and I strongly feel I need them. It’s driving me crazy! Like on a random ride from work to home, or moments before I close my eyes to sleep, I’ll try to strategically plan how on earth am I supposed to properly blend my eye makeup sans the brushes, and what single product I can buy that can multifunction the best (e.g. contour kit that can be an eyeshadow as well, and it’s relatively large in portion, OR eyebrow powder palette which can be also used as crease shade and contour powder). It’s really about maximizing your purchases, yo. #frugal

Oh, BTW our graduation portrait taking is approaching really soon so I’m getting kinda panicky right now. To ease this paranoia, I practiced. I worked with the makeup that I currently have.

 

2016-01-24 06.jpg
From upper left, clockwise: Haobe liquid eyeliner, Etude House Soft Touch retractable lip liner, The Face Shop CC cream, Nichido blush, Nichido eyebrow powder duo, some nude lipstick, and Maybelline Expertwear eyeshadow quad

 

Look at my used and abused eyebrow powder. 😦 I’m thinking of repurchasing Nichido brow powder or try another product out there (I’ve been hearing a lot of great reviews on K-Palette).

So with the aforementioned tools of trade, this is the lewk I came up with.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

 

For flash photography, creating depth to your features is important as the light may tend to diffuse the natural curves of the face. Smartphone photography is different, as I already have manipulated the angles to make my features prominent. And not to mention, it doesn’t match the prowess of a professional photography, so I really can’t tell if this is good enough.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Skipped the mascara and went for falsies

 

 

For the no-brush dilemma, I just used my ring finger to apply everything. Although this is far from seamless. It got oily over time, so mattifying it with powder must do the trick. And what works best with powder? Brush. Damn, I really do need that brush.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
You know what’s pabebe? This is. LOL

 

I’m not really confident using shimmery eyeshadow on pictures, so I hope for a heaven-sent matte one.

 

2 thoughts on “Musings on shimmer and matte

  1. I love this look, especially the falsies! This is what people now would call “selfie-ready”. As far as flash photography is concerned, you might want a less greyish eyebrow product to make them stand out a tiny bit more. The rest looks perfect to me!
    Mari xx
    http://mclairewar.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

